An Offbeat historical place in Bhuj “Chhatedi”

While I searched for the must-to-visit places in Bhuj for my Kutch trip, I had no idea about this place known as “Chhatedi“.

On reaching Bhuj, my travel mate, asked to take a rickshaw and get down to “Chhatedi”. I did not even catch the name properly, and kept on asking him several times. I asked the Rickshawala what the place is about, he told me its something historical, and I should see. He charged me 40 Rs from my Hotel I was staying at, Anjali Hotel, station Road. The spot is near to the Hamirsar lake.

The first look of the place reminded me of Hampi, though I have not been there but the ruins looked similar to what I often come across in the pictures of Hampi.

Chhatedi-is one of the historical place in Bhuj, Kutch, Gujarat known for it’s architectural excellence. Unfortunately major part of it was damaged in 2001 earthquake. One of the shot in movie “Hum Dil de Chuke Sanam” was filmed here.

I tried searching but not much has been written about this place. A local friend who accompanied us told that this place used to be the funeral place for Maharajas of Kutch.

There are no timings or fee.

123456891011141213

17 Comments Add yours

  1. Such stunning architecture and you have beautifully captured it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. polomim says:

      Thank you so much!!

      Like

  2. Shrikant L. says:

    All pictures on blue canvas !!

    Cheers, http://www.lensed.in

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Rajiv says:

    Looks nice. I have not explored Gujarat at all.. Not before 2018, sadly

    Liked by 1 person

    1. polomim says:

      Oops 2018 hehe…a bit long isn’t it?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Rajiv says:

        Yeah… 2017… North East. A car trip or two, and a few train trips

        Liked by 1 person

      2. polomim says:

        I get a little surprised when I hear abt so distant plans..I seriously don’t know where I might go dis weekend.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Rajiv says:

        I always make distant plans…. And then I do something completely different

        Like

  4. vishalsanap says:

    superb architecture..<3

    Liked by 1 person

    1. polomim says:

      still don’t know why not much people talk about it …

      Liked by 1 person

      1. vishalsanap says:

        =D point of view hahaha 😛

        Liked by 1 person

  5. The first thing I noticed was the blue, blue sky. In the big cities the sky is never so blue. Enjoy it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. polomim says:

      hehe..dats not a big city ..may b dats y 🙂

      Like

  6. polomim says:

    yes a good visit it was!!

    Like

  7. Alok Singhal says:

    Looks like they had funerals over there, as you mentioned!

    But a very pretty place it seems.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

