Live life Nomad size ! Hitesh Bhatt of “Project Go Native”

What I do when I am not traveling??

Follow other travelers!! 

Yes, I do that when I am home, at work or doing anything but not traveling.  I have surrounded my virtual life with a bunch of travel maniacs who like to live life as a nomad, will go any extent to see new places, and that bunch of people whose bucket-lists never ends.

One of them is Hitesh Bhatt, who quit his job with an NGO as an Impact Manager in July 2015 to pursue his travel dreams, but in a different way. I call it different because not many people leave their job and set their goals to travel, in a daily budget of just 300 rs/ per day-!!

12311109_920722414679199_7042609491248374096_n
Bungee Jumping at the Last Resort, Nepal

 

I am following Hitesh’s journey right from the time he started his nomad life and with every new place he goes, he only inspires me more to do what he is doing. He has been now close to five months on the road exploring the less seen places of Delhi, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Punjab, Bihar, Maharashtra & Kathmandu.

Hitesh’s journey that he calls, Project Go Native, is an attempt to get closer to the unheard, less-traveled places of India. He wishes to experience the life of many people in our country who live a not so easy life.

12108909_901737413244366_5640101865924871136_n
Kanakot, Uttarakhand

My curious mind had to know and understand his travel pattern, how he plans, what he does and most importantly how at all he manages to survive in a budget of 300 rs/day, so I ended up calling him one evening after I returned from my work and flooded him with my questions.

The first thing I asked him was “Where are you right now?”

His answer :- “At Pitthoragarh, Uttarakhand, in a temple, will be sleeping here tonight.”

Sleeping in a temple didn’t surprise me, but getting to know that even after four and a half months of this nomad life he wants to continue this till his savings allows did surprise me for sure. During all this time he has interacted with numerous people in the small and remote villages, who have helped him with his stay, provided him food and he thanks them all. He makes no plans, and would start with his backpack anywhere he wants to. He wishes to do this for a year, travelling across India, meeting more people, exploring more cultures.

12002281_890332864384821_1584355452893455010_n
Kalga , Parvati Valley, Himachal Pradesh

Every time I come back from a vacation, most of them are weekend trips or would stretch to a week or two at the most, I bring back a bag full of stories, memoirs and experiences to tell people. I wonder what a life it would be, to be on a similar never ending vacation, with no plans, just me and my backpack!!

I know I will to do it sometime very soon. Till then I am going to continue follow him. I hope our journeys make us meet some where and I get to listen some of the many stories that he may have to tell.

Till then and even after then, Happy tripping Hitesh!!

Read his story published on  Your Story : How to travel across India with a Budget of just Rs 300 

Follow his Journey:

Facebook : Project Go Native

Blog : Those three dots

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Interesting read on that perspective! Incidentally, I travel the same way. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. polomim says:

      Dats really good. I feel jealous of such travelers 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha! Do share your take on my trekking stories. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Alok Singhal says:

    Just travelling the world would be so awesome for me! But for that Rs 300 won’t work 🙂
    Lucky Hitesh!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Neethu says:

    Wow very adventurous ..😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. polomim says:

      I am jealous of his life!! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Hitesh says:

    When you surround yourself with like minded people, everyhting you do has a meaning.
    Thanks for this post. Loved reading the way you wrote about me.
    Happy Travels.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. polomim says:

      I enjoyed writing it too 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

